Button Top


  • Schengen visa has to be obtained from the Embassy/Consulate of the country where the main purpose of travel lies. Therefore, please check your travel plans before making your application to the German Consulate. In case of travel to multiple Schengen countries; please make your application to the Embassy/Consulate where you will be staying for the maximum number of days. If the duration of stay is the same in more than one Schengen country, please submit your application from the point of first entry.
  • Once confirmed that your Schengen visa has to be obtained from the German Consulate, then please be sure about your purpose of visit. Refer to visa types to understand the details of various visa categories. Applicants may select the visa type depending on their ‘MAIN PURPOSE OF TRAVEL’ and ‘DURATION OF STAY’.
  •  For Schengen visa category C (Stay up to 90 Days): Foreign nationals who wish to travel to Germany must be in possession of a valid visa, unless they are nationals from countries which are not included in the list of countries with the obligation to carry a visa in order to cross external borders for stays in the Schengen Area of no more than three months (90 days), in a period of six months (180 days), from the date of entry into the Schengen Area.
  • A Schengen visa allows you to travel to the following countries:
Austria Belgium Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland France Germany
Greece Hungary Iceland Italy
Latvia Lithuania Liechtenstein Malta
The Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal
Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden
Switzerland Luxembourg - -
  • For Palestinian Nationals holding a “Travel Document” for refugees, please refer to the leaflet.