Apply for
You are here: Home » Visa Information » All about Visas » Visitors
Do you need a visa for Germany?

You DO NOT need a visa for short stays in Germany if you are:

a citizen of the EU/EEA/EFTA
a spouse (married or civil partnership) or child of an EU/EEA/EFTA national if you hold a British "Residence Card of a Family Member of an EEA National" or a "Permanent Residence Card" - and only if you are travelling together with the EU/EEA/EFTA national
a holder of a, Service, Official or Special Passport from Bolivia, Chad, Colombia, Ghana, Philippines, Thailand and Turkey
a holder of a Service Passport from United Arab Emirates
a holder of a Service passport from Ecuador, Moldova (biometric passport), Ukraine (biometric passport)
a holder of a Diplomatic Passport from Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia & Herzegovina (biometric passport), Georgia, Ecuador, India, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Macedonia, Malawi, Mongolia( biometric passport), Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Pakistan, Peru, Russian Federation, Serbia, South Africa, Tunisia, Ukraine United Arab Emirates and Vietnam
a citizen of a country listed below (provided you are not going to stay longer than three months and you are not going to do any paid or self-employed work)

Biometric passports
 Chile  Macao
(RAE only
 Samoa Trinidad and Tobago
Andorra  Costa Rica  Malaysia Saint Lucia Uruguay
Antigua & Barbuda  Dominica Mauritius Saint Vincent and the Grenadines  USA
Argentina  El Salvador  Macedonia(Biometric passport) San Marino  United Arab Emirates
Australia Grenada Mexico Serbia
(Biometric passport)
 Bahamas  Guatemala  Monaco  Seychelles  Vatican
 Barbados  Honduras  Moldova
(Biometric passport)
Singapore  Venezuela
 Bosnia Herzegovina (only biometric passports)   Hong Kong (SAR passports)  Montenegro
(Biometric passport)
 St. Kitts & Nevis  
Brazil Israel Nicaragua

 New Zealand
 Brunei  Japan  Panama  Taiwan (only passports that include an ID number)  
 Canada Korea (Republic of)  Paraguay  Timor- Leste  

Holders of British Passports/Travel Documents:

To enter Germany without a visa, you must have one of these:

British "European Community" passport issued in or after July 1988
British "Isle of Man", "Jersey" and "Guernsey and its dependencies" passport
Travel Documents according with the Convention of July 28, 1951 or the Convention of September 28 1954. (These travel Documents must be valid for at least another four months at the time of entry into Germany.)
British Subject passport
British Overseas Territories citizen passport
British Nationals Overseas (BNO) passport.
British Protected Persons Passport
British Overseas Citizen Passport

Citizens of any countries not mentioned above WILL need a visa to enter Germany.

Please note:
The processing time for visa applications for the nationals of the following countries is 14 days. In addition to the regular requirements, these nationals have to provide a full address of reference in Germany with postcode.

Afghanistan Algeria Bahrain Bangladesh Belarus
Burundi Congo (DR) Egypt Indonesia Iraq
Iran Jordan Kazakhstan
passports only)
Kuwait Lebanon
Libya Morocco Mauritania Nigeria North Korea
Oman Pakistan Palestine (Travel document) Philippines Qatar
Rwanda Saudi Arabia Somalia Sudan Syria
Tunisia United Arab Emirates Uzbekistan Yemen Vietnam

Please note that Travel Documents issued by the above named countries will need the same processing time.