Top button


All applicants applying for a Schengen visa for the Netherlands, Belgium or Luxembourg or a visa for the Caribbean parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, can apply at the VFS Netherlands Visa Application Centre in Jakarta, Bali and Surabaya by appointment. By following the guidelines on this website you will be able to submit your visa application together with the mandatory documents accurately. This will reduce the chances of your application being delayed or declined due to inadequate or incorrect submission of documents.

Please use the following link for more information about booking an appointment at the VFS Netherlands Visa Application Centre.

Appointment to the Netherlands Visa Application Center


The Convention implementing the Schengen Agreement came into force on 26 March 1995. The Schengen countries require visitors to obtain a common visa, which permits entry to the Schengen Area. The Schengen countries have reached agreements with each other on entry requirements and a common visa application form.

The 26 Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

A ‘Schengen visa’ is required to visit one or more of these Member States. This visa is generally valid for all Schengen States for a stay of up to 90 days within a 180 day period for a visit, tourism or business, but not for employment or family reunification purposes.

Whether you need a Schengen visa depends on your nationality. Click here for more information about which nationalities require a Schengen visa. Indonesian nationals who are ordinary passport holders are required to apply for a Visa to enter the Schengen area.

For a visit to one Schengen state, visa applications must be lodged at the Embassy/Consulate of that particular Member State. If the visit includes more than one destination, you should submit your application to the embassy or consulate of the Schengen country associated with your main purpose of travel. If your main purpose of travel is the same for more than one country, for example a holiday, submit your visa application to the embassy or consulate of the country you plan to stay in the longest. If you plan to spend an equal amount of time in each Schengen country, submit your visa application to the embassy or consulate of the country you intend to visit first.

Before applying, please ensure you are very clear on your ‘purpose of visit’ – do remember we are here to assist and help you through the entire visa application process but are not permitted to advise or guide you on choosing a visa category. Since our work is primarily administrative in nature, we have no say on whether you will be granted a visa and how long it will take to process, as this is entirely the prerogative the department of the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs processing your visa application.

For more information about the different visa types, the visa fees and the documents you are required to submit with your application, please look at the relevant pages of the VFS website: Tourist, Visiting Family/Friends, Seafarers, Business, Airport Transit, EU Guidelines Application, Short Study, Official Visit and Return Visa.


It is possible to visit more than one Caribbean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands using single visa. The visa is valid for all parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in the Caribbean for a visit as tourist or for short stay in the countries Aruba, Curacao , and St Maarten and for the Dutch Caribbean islands Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba.

For more information on the Caribbean visa:


In case you intend to stay for continuous period of longer than 90 days in the Netherlands, you will need a temporary residence permit ( MVV ).

For more information about the MVV: