All applicants applying for a Schengen and/or a visa for the Caribbean parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, can submit their application at VFS. All applicants for a Schengen visa for Latvia or Poland, can submit their application at VFS.

Schengen Visa

A ‘Schengen visa’ is required to visit one or more of the 26 Schengen countries. This visa is valid in all Schengen States for a stay of up to 90 days within a 180-day period for a visit, tourism or business, but not for employment or family reunification purposes.

To check which nationalities need a Schengen visa to enter the Netherlands, click here.

The 26 Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein , Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Filipino nationals who are ordinary passport holders are required to apply for a  visa to enter the Schengen area.

Filipino official or diplomatic passport holders also require  a visa to travel to the Netherlands, but if you belong to this category,  you can contact  the Embassy of the Netherlands in Manila to make an appointment with the Embassy.

Visa applications must be lodged at the Embassy/Consulate or the Visa Application Centre of that particular Member State. If the visit includes more than one destination, you should submit your application to the embassy or consulate of the Schengen country associated with your main purpose of travel. If your main purpose of travel is the same for more than one country, for example a holiday, submit your visa application to the embassy or consulate of the country you plan to stay in the longest. If you plan to spend an equal amount of time in each Schengen country, submit your visa application to the embassy or consulate of the country you intend to visit first.

Before applying, please ensure you are very clear on your ‘purpose of visit’ – do remember we are here to assist and help you through the entire visa application process but are not permitted to advise or guide you on choosing a visa category. Since our work is primarily administrative in nature, we have no say on whether you will be granted a visa and how long it will take to process, as this is entirely the prerogative of the department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of the Netherlands responsible for the processing of visa applications.


For more information about the different Schengen visa types:

Caribbean Visa

It is possible to visit more than one Caribbean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands using single visa. The visa is valid for all parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in the Caribbean for a visit as tourist or for short stay in the countries Aruba, Curacao , and St Maarten and for the Dutch Caribbean islands Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba.

For more information on the Caribbean visa:

Long-term visa

In case you intend to stay for continuous period of longer than 90 days in the Netherlands, you will need a temporary residence permit ( MVV ).

For more information about the MVV: