In Rwanda the Embassy of Belgium represents 20 countries for handling short stay visa applications

(Schengen visa - max. 90 days):

  • Austria,
  • Czech Republic,
  • Estonia,
  • Finland,
  • France,
  • Germany (only Nationals of Rwanda and Kivu-Provinces (DRC)),
  • Greece,
  • Hungary,
  • Italia,
  • Latvia,
  • Lithuania,
  • Luxembourg,
  • Malta,
  • The Netherlands,
  • Portugal,
  • Slovenia,
  • Spain,
  • Sweden,
  • Liechtenstein
  • and Switzerland.


Luxemburg The Embassy of Belgium also represents Luxembourg for handling of long stay visa applications (more than 90 days).

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Short stay visa - visa applicants from the Kivu-provinces DRC (less than 90 days)
Congolese nationals and foreigners having their residence in one of the Kivu provinces can apply for their short stay visa at the VAC (Visa Application Center) if their main destination is Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Luxemburg, Germany or Sweden. For other destinations and residents outside of Kivu, please contact the relevant Embassy in Kinshasa.

Students - visa applicants from residents in Kivu – DRC
The VAC (Visa Application Center) can accept visa applications from students resident in the Kivu-provinces in case they received a scholarship from the Belgian Government in the framework of its development cooperation (DGD-attestation), from Enabel or from one of the indirect actors of the DGD (CIUF-CUD, IOB, VLIR-UOS, ITG, KMMA-MRAC, KBIN-IRScNB). If your scholarship has not been awarded by one of the organizations you have to apply for your visa at the Belgian Embassy in Kinshasa.

Visa Rules

In case of travel to multiple Schengen countries, please make sure you apply for the Schengen country where you will be staying for the maximum number of days or for the Schengen country of the main purpose of your trip. If the duration of your stay is equal in the different Schengen countries you will be visiting, please apply for the country where you will enter the Schengen territory.

The Belgium Visa Application Centre will accept your application but we do not assure you of a visa as the decision to issue a visa and duration that it is issued for is made by Embassy of Belgium in Kigali only.

Please note that VFS Global employees can only provide you with information for Belgian visas, but they are unable to provide you with advice regarding the visa you should apply for.



  • Business / Commerce Visa
  • Friendly Visit Visa
  • Family Visit Visa
  • Event Visa
  • Medical Care Visa
  • Visa Partnerships
  • Professional Visa
  • Visa for family members of the Union - (non Belgian)
  • Religious Visa
  • Visa Tourism
  • Airport transit visa

  • Visa for Cohabitation in Belgium (please contact the Belgian Embassy via )
  • Visa to return to Belgium (please contact the Belgian Embassy via )


  • Family reunification with a foreigner to whom Belgium has recognized refugee status (art 10)
  • Grouping with a Belgian (art 40ter)
  • Reunification with a foreigner (non-EU citizen - art 10)
  • Study in Belgium - student visa (art 59 or art 9)
  • Visa to work in Belgium (work permit) or professional card (please contact the Belgian Embassy via )

Schengen visa is valid for

Austria Belgium Sweden Slovakia
Finland France Estonia Slovenia
Greece Iceland Latvia Hungary
Luxembourg Netherlands Lithuania Switzerland
Portugal Spain Malta Denmark
Germany Poland Italy Norway
Czech Republic Liechtenstein - -