top button

Visa Types

All about your Visas

Please note: not all travel documents are recognized by the Netherlands. If you apply for a visa with such a non-recognized travel document, your visa application can be declared inadmissible. More detailed information is available on the European Union website. Go to the website, then to the section Info on the right-hand side and click on ‘Travel documents issued by third countries and territorial entities (Part I)’.

For the issuance of Schengen visas (C visas only), the Netherlands represents in Oman the following countries: Belgium, Luxembourg, Estonia, , Norway, Poland, Sweden and Switzerland. This implies that VFS is authorized to accept only applications (C visa/short stay) where the main destination is Belgium, Luxembourg, Estonia,  Norway, Poland, Sweden or Switzerland.

All applications have to be made in person by the applicant. (Including babies and children of any age).

The data which is collected physically (visa application files), is sent “each working day” to  Consular Service Organisation (CSO) the Haag

The electronically encrypted data is transferred at the latest at the end of the working day.

Important information- please read

All applicants must comply fully with the documents required for the category of visa they are applying for. Incomplete applications may not be accepted, and alternative documentation other than that which is stated on the website also may not be accepted.

You may submit your visa application at The Embassy of The Kingdom of The Netherlands, Oman or may submit your application at your nearest VFS Global visa application Centre for the Netherlands. All applicants applying for an airport transit or short stay Schengen visa (for business, for cultural or sport events, for tourism, for visiting family or friends, for a fellowship or as seaman) are advised to schedule a (prior) appointment to submit their application at the VFS Visa Application Centre for The Netherlands.

Before applying, please ensure you are very clear on your purpose of visit – do remember we are here to assist and help you through the entire visa application process but are not permitted to advise or guide you on choosing a visa category. Since our work is primarily administrative in nature, we have no say on whether you will be granted a visa and how long it will take to process. For a visit to one Schengen state, visa applications must be lodged at the Embassy/Consulate /External Service Provider of that particular Member State. If the visit includes more than one destination, visa applications must be lodged at the Embassy/Consulate/External Service Provider of the Member State whose territory constitutes the MAIN destination of the visit(s) in terms of purpose or the length of stay You may refer to the link All about Visas to understand details of various visas.

The Convention implementing the Schengen Agreement came into force on 26 March 1995. The Schengen countries require visitors to obtain a common visa, which permits entry to the Schengen Area. The Schengen countries have reached agreements with each other on entry requirements and a common visa application form.

To check which nationalities need a Schengen visa to enter The Netherlands and general information, click the below link:

Click here

The 26 Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein , Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

If you have a Schengen visa for the Netherlands, you will also be permitted to travel in the other countries belonging to the Schengen area. A Schengen visa is valid for 90 days within a 180-day 'free period'. The free period begins on the date on which you first enter the Netherlands or the Schengen area.

You can use the free period in 2 ways:

    • You can stay in the Netherlands or the Schengen area for 90 consecutive days. After your 90-day stay – plus a further 90 days outside the Netherlands or outside the Schengen area – you can apply again for a Schengen visa.
  • You can also spread your 90-day stay over the whole 180-day free period. To do so, you will require a 'multiple entry' Schengen visa. When you apply for a Schengen visa, you can specify whether you want it to be single or multiple entry.

The legal processing time for a Schengen visa is 15 calendar days.

If you want to stay in the Netherlands for longer than 90 days, you may require an authorization for temporary stay (MVV). More information can be obtained from the Immigration and Naturalization Service (IND): Click here

  • You cannot apply for a Schengen visa more than 3 months before your intended departure: Click here
  • If you are a family member of an EU/EEA or Swiss national you may qualify for an accelerated free visa procedure as long as you meet the following criteria:

    a.You are a family member (this includes a spouse, registered partner, child who is under 21 or a depending family member) of an EU/EEA or Swiss national (or of his/her spouse/registered partner);


    b.That EU/EEA national or Swiss national is residing in another Member State than that of which he/she is a national or travelling there to take up residence;


    c.You are accompanying the EU/EEA national or planning to join him/her.

  • If you think you qualify for visa facilitation you will need to show proof that you meet these criteria when you submit your visa application and the visa fee is waived.

    For more information, please Click here.