Top Button

Visa Types

If you wish to visit the Netherlands for a short period of time, you must obtain a visa prior to entry if you come from a country with a visa requirement for entering the Netherlands.

Schengen visa

  • A visa normally grants you the right to stay in the entire Schengen region. The Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. A visa grants you the right to spend a maximum of 90 days per 180-day period in the Schengen region.

    All visa applications should be signed and submitted by the applicant personally. For a visit to one Schengen state, visa applications must be lodged at the Embassy/Consulate (or external service provider VFS) of that particular Member State. If the visit includes more than one destination, visa applications must be lodged at the Embassy/Consulate of the Member State whose territory constitutes the MAIN destination of the visit(s) in terms of purpose or the length of stay.
  • Whether you need a Schengen visa is dependent on your nationality. Click here for a list of countries whose nationals do not require a Schengen visa.

    Should you require a short stay Schengen visa to the Netherlands, please read the information on this site about the different Schengen visa types carefully. Information is given about the required documents, visa fees, photo specifications and processing time per visa type:

Tourist, Business/conference/Study/Training, Business (Orange Carpet), Visiting Friends and Relatives, Seafarers, Airport Transit, Official delegation , Family Members EU/EEA And Swiss Nationals, and Return Visa.

Caribbean Visa

This website also provides information about Caribbean visa. For more information about a visa to visit Aruba, CuraƧao, St Maarten, and the Caribbean Netherlands (Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba), click here.

Visa for more than 90 days - MVV

If you wish to apply for a stay in the Netherlands for longer than 90 days, you are required to apply for a MVV. You can only apply for a MVV via the embassy. For more information about the MVV application process, please click here.