top button


  • Effective 06 July 2020

    Portugal Visa Application Centre accepts applications only with prior appointment. Please note change in our operational days and hours until further notice:

    Durban and Pretoria Visa Application Centre will reopen on Monday 6 July 2020 from 09:00 hrs-12:00 hrs

    Johannesburg Visa Application Centre will reopen on Wednesday the 8 July 2020 from 09:00 hrs-12:00 hrs

    Thereafter, Durban, Johannesburg and Pretoria will open every Mondays from the 13 July 2020 from 09:00 hrs-12:00 hrs.

    Please note only applications by appointment will be assisted.

    Kindly note the no Family/Group appointments will be allowed due to COVID-19, only single appointments will be accepted at the application centres.

    Owing to the COVID -19 development and directives by the Government of South Africa, the Portugal Visa Application Centres will now be able to operate as per the level 3 regulations as from the 6 July 2020. Please note only applications by appointment will be assisted.

    We have a very important update for our customers in South Africa regarding the functioning of our Portugal Visa Application Centres.

    As the safety of our customers and staff is our priority, we have implemented strict health and safety measures in line with Government guidelines for social distancing at our Application Centres. On arrival at the Visa Application Centre, you will be required to undergo a temperature reading. Customers exhibiting COVID-19 symptoms, including fever (higher than 37.3 degrees Celsius), cough and difficulty in breathing will be allowed to reschedule their appointments for another day and not proceed further for their applications.

    For your safety, kindly adhere to the precautionary measures at our Centres. All processed applications will be subject to accepting the mandatory courier service to reduce the number of visits to the Centre.

    Please note that that the restrictions for non-essential travel still apply.
    Therefore the only visa categories allowed are the following;

    • E6 temporary stay study visas for longer than 3 months and less than a year where the names feature on a national list of applicants
    • D4 Long stay study visa, master/university/higher school students
    • D6 Reunification of the family
    • E4 Highly qualified/Scientific investigator for a period of less than a year
    • D3 Scientific investigation/Highly qualified/Phd education
    • E2 temporary transfer of employees for companies
    • D2 Start up visa for independent professional activity
    • D1 Work visa
    • D7 retired and clergy
    • E3 independent workman’s visa
    • E5 amateur sportsman’s visa
    • E8 seasonal work
    • E9 Professional education

    The below visa categories is still suspended :

    • C Visa - Short stay
  • As of 02 February 2020 the Schengen visa fee per person (Short Stay Visa) will increase from 60 euros to 80 euros. For children between 6-12 years old the visa fee will increase from 35 euros to 40 euros or the equivalent amount in your local currency.
  • Prime Time Services: Applicants can choose to apply outside normal work days - ……to find out more click here
  • Beware of fraudulent job offers. For more details – click here