top button

Know Your Visa Type

  • Foreign nationals who wish to travel to Portugal must be in possession of a visa, unless they are nationals from countries which are not included in the list of countries with the obligation to carry a visa in order to cross external borders for stays in the Schengen Area of no more than three months (90 days) in a period of six months (180 days) from the date of entry into the Schengen Area.
  • A Schengen visa allows you to travel to the following countries:

  • Austria Belgium Czech Republic Denmark
    Estonia Finland France Germany
    Greece Hungary Iceland Italy
    Latvia Lithuania Liechtenstein Malta
    Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal
    Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden
    Switzerland    Luxembourg    
  • Please apply for your visa at the consulate or embassy of the country of your main destination.
    If there is no main destination, the application must be submitted to the Consulate or Embassy of the country where you will be staying for the longest period of time.

    If no longest stay can be ascertained then you may apply at the country of the first port of entry.
  • AIRPORT TRANSIT VISA: Nationals of some countries do require a transit visa when transiting through a Portuguese airport on their way from a non-Schengen country to another non-Schengen country. RSA CITIZENS DO NOT REQUIRE SUCH A VISA if they are not to leave the international area of the precise terminal building of a Portuguese airport.
  • SOUTH AFRICAN CITIZENS LIVING ABROAD must apply at the country where they legally reside.
  • Please submit COPIES of any originals you want to keep.
  • Please be sure to complete the application form entirely. The applicant must sign the application form.

    Processed passports can be collected from Visa Application centres in Pretoria and Durban between 13:30 -16:00Hrs. Applicants can instantly track the status of their application by clicking on Track your Application
  • If you intend to visit only one Schengen country, you must apply at the Embassy or Consulate of that country.
  • If you intend to visit several Schengen countries, you must apply for a visa at the Embassy or Consulate that is your main destination (i.e. your longest stay).
  • If you intend to visit several countries but do not have a main destination, you should apply for a visa at the Embassy or Consulate of the country of your first point of entry.

Types of Visas

  • Transit visa 
    (1-5 days, single or double entry): is issued to travel from a non-Schengen state to another non Schengen state across Schengen state territory. (Multiple entry transit visa may be granted under exceptional circumstances). 
    If coming from a non-Schengen state with the main destination in one or several Schengen states and back to first point of departure, then a short stay visa will be issued.
  • Short stay visa  
    (1-90 days, single, double or multiple entry).
  • Long stay visa
    Visas for visits exceeding 90 days are National visas, and are issued by member states in accordance with national legislation.
  • Airport transit visas
    Required by the nationals of certain countries. (Not for R.S.A. citizens).